

## WUN Presidents Forum 2015 'Global and Local: Reform Agendas for Higher Education in China and the World'

Thursday, 30 April 2015 The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen [CUHK(SZ)]

## (Preliminary Programme as at 1 April 2015)

Time	Programme
7:15am	For delegates attending the WUN AGM – Coaches depart from the lobby of the Hyatt Regency Sha Tin
9:15am – 9:30am	Arrival and registration
9:30am – 9.50am	<ul> <li>Opening</li> <li>Welcome by Professor Max Price, Chair of WUN Partnership Board &amp; President, University of Cape Town (5 mins)</li> <li>Welcome by Professor Xu Yangsheng, President, CUHK(SZ) (5 mins)</li> <li>Welcome by Dr. Xu Qin, Mayor of the Shenzhen Municipal Government (TBC) (5 mins)</li> <li>Group photo</li> </ul>
9.50am – 10.20am	Keynote Address by Professor Yang Fujia, President, The University of Nottingham Ningbo China (20 mins) <i>Chinese Dream, Chinese Educational Dream First (中国梦,首先是中国教育梦)</i> Discussion moderated by Professor Max Price & Professor Xu Yangsheng (10 mins)
10:20am – 10.50am	Morning tea
10.50am – 12:20pm	<ul> <li>Panel Discussion Advancing higher education internationalization through partnership and collaboration</li> <li>Professor Joseph Sung, Vice-Chancellor &amp; President, CUHK (Chair)</li> <li>Professor Martin Paul, President, Maastricht University (10 mins)</li> <li>Professor Xu Ningsheng, President, Fudan University (10 mins)</li> <li>Professor Stuart McCutcheon, Vice-Chancellor, The University of Auckland (10 mins)</li> <li>Professor Yonghua Song, Executive Vice-President, Zhejiang University (TBC) (10 mins)</li> <li>Open-floor discussion by all participants (30 mins)</li> </ul>
12:20pm- 12:30pm	Closing remarks by Professor John Hearn, Executive Director, WUN
12:30pm – 12:40pm	Coach transfer to lunch venue
12:40pm – 1:40pm	Lunch at Castle Hotel of Genzon
1:40pm – 3:40pm	End of programme. For delegates attending the WUN AGM – Coaches return to Hyatt Regency Sha Tin

\_\_\_\_

## Participation from WUN Member Universities:

WU	N University	Representatives
1.	The Chinese University of Hong Kong	<ul> <li>Professor Joseph Sung, Vice-Chancellor &amp; President</li> </ul>
2.	The University of Auckland	Professor Stuart McCutcheon, Vice-Chancellor
3.	The University of Basel	Dr Antonio Loprieno, Rector
4.	The University of Bergen	<ul> <li>Professor Anne Christine Johannessen, Vice- Rector for International Relations</li> </ul>
5.	The University of Bristol	Sir Eric Thomas, Vice-Chancellor
6.	The University of Cape Town	Dr Max Price, Vice-Chancellor
7.	The University of Leeds	Sir Alan Langlands, Vice-Chancellor
8.	Maastricht University	Professor Martin Paul, President
9.	The University of Massachusetts, Amherst	<ul> <li>Professor Katherine Newman, Provost &amp; Senior Vice-Chancellor for Academic Affairs</li> </ul>
10.	The University of Rochester	Professor Peter Lennie, Provost
11.	The University of Sheffield	Professor Gill Valentine, Pro-Vice-Chancellor
12.	The University of Southampton	Professor Don Nutbeam, Vice-Chancellor
13.	The University of Sydney	<ul> <li>Professor Stephen Garton, Provost &amp; Deputy Vice- Chancellor</li> </ul>
14.	The University of Western Australia	Professor Paul Johnson, Vice-Chancellor
15.	The University of York	<ul> <li>Professor Deborah Smith, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research</li> </ul>
16.	Zhejiang University	<ul> <li>Professor Yonghua Song, Executive Vice- President (TBC)</li> </ul>
17.	Worldwide Universities Network	Professor John Hearn, Executive Director

## Participation from Chinese Universities:

Ch	inese University	Representatives
1.	The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen [香港中文大学(深圳)]	<ul> <li>Professor Xu Yangsheng, President (徐扬生校长)</li> </ul>
2.	Beijing Normal University (北京师范大学)	<ul> <li>Professor Zhou Zuoyu, Vice President (周作宇副校 长)</li> </ul>
3.	Chongqing University (重庆大学)	Representative TBC
4.	Fudan University (复旦大学)	• Professor Xu Ningsheng, President (许宁生校长)
5.	Huazhong University of Science & Technology (华中科技大学)	Representative TBC
6.	Jilin University (吉林大学)	• Professor Chen Gang, Vice President (陈岗副校长)
7.	Nankai University (南开大学)	<ul> <li>Professor Gong Ke, President (龚克校长)</li> </ul>
8.	Renmin University of China (中国人民大学)	<ul> <li>Professor Hong Dayong, Vice President (洪大用副 校长)</li> </ul>
9.	Shanghai Jiao Tong University (上海交通大学)	<ul> <li>Professor Huang Zhen, Vice President (黄震副校 长)</li> </ul>
10.	Shenzhen University (深圳大学)	<ul> <li>Professor Ruan Shuangchen, Vice President (阮双 琛副校长)</li> </ul>
11.	Sichuan University (四川大学)	<ul> <li>Professor Li Guangxian, Executive Vice President (李光憲常務副校长)</li> </ul>
12.	South China University of Technology (华南理工大学)	• Professor Zhu Min, Vice President (朱敏副校长)
13.	Sun Yat-sen University (中山大学)	Representative TBC
14.	. Tianjin University (天津大学)	<ul> <li>Professor Li Jiajun, President (李家俊校长)</li> </ul>

Chinese University	Representatives	
15. Tsinghua University (清华大学)	Representative TBC	
16. University of Chinese Academy of Sciences (中国科学院大学)	<ul> <li>Professor Wu Yueliang, Vice President (吴岳良副 校长)</li> </ul>	
17. University of Science & Technology of China (中国科学技术大学)	Representative TBC	
18. Wuhan University (武汉大学)	• Professor Li Xiaohong, President (李晓红校长)	
19. Xi'an Jiaotong University (西安交通大学)	• Professor Wang Shuguo, President (王树国校长)	

-----